Credit: Created with DALL.E

Journalists up and down the country are working hard covering stories that matter to their audiences. It is nice to get all that effort recognised by the industry and celebrate success with your team.

So whether you are a writer, a broadcaster, a podcaster or anything in between, we rounded up media awards that you can apply for this year.

We will update this piece regularly - let us know if you hear about awards that should be featured.

The awards are ordered by application deadline.


PPA Awards 2024

Deadline: 19 January (early-bird rates); 9 February (final deadline)

New Year provides the perfect opportunity to reflect on your standout work from the last 12 months, showcase your achievements, and make sure your team gets the spotlight they deserve.

ABSW Awards 2024

Deadline: 31 January

The Association of British Science Writers Awards, dubbed ‘the Oscars of science journalism’, are the oldest established awards for science writing and have now been running for over 50 years. The awards reward bravery, flair and independence in science journalism setting the standards of excellence across thirteen categories.


New Media Writing Prize

Deadline: 1 February

The NMWP encourages and promotes the best in new media writing and is leading the way toward the future of the ‘written’ word and interactive storytelling. The NMWP has attracted entries from the very best and most innovative writers in the field, from all around the world.

Headlinemoney Awards

Deadline: 2 February

The 2024 Headlinemoney Awards celebrate brilliant journalism and top-flight communications from across the UK’s financial press and media. The awards comprise categories both for individual journalists (Consumer and B2B) and media outlets covering different aspects of the financial marketplace. There are also trophies for individuals and press teams working in financial PR, media relations and communications. A key aspect of the awards is that all the winners are decided by their peers following an extensive submission, shortlisting and judging process.

Read more: Award-winning journalist Sally Hayden: "I never chased this story, it came to me"

One World Media Awards

Deadline: 8 February

Across 15 categories, the awards celebrate work from all media platforms and across a wide range of genres and themes. Open to journalists and documentary makers from anywhere in the world, with a focus on stories, topics or issues in, about or related to the global south.

Talent Awards 2024

Deadline: 12 February

The British Society of Magazine Editors Talent Awards celebrate editorial excellence, best practice and groundbreaking creativity and innovation among grass-roots teams across all digital, print and social platforms. These awards shine a light on the magazine industry's rising stars, unsung heroes and brilliant teams.

Mobile Journalism Awards

Deadline: 14 February

The Mobile Journalism Awards is an annual global competition run by the Visual Editors non-profit to advance, identify and celebrate the best mobile journalism reporting each year. Winning work is featured in international screening events and winners receive prizes.


WAN-IFRA Digital Media Awards Europe

Deadline: 1 March

For more than a decade, WAN-IFRA has been recognising the efforts of publishers that have carried out strategic, innovative and monetisable digital media initiatives. Embrace the challenge of measuring you against numerous other European media companies. The size of your company does not determine your likelihood of success – local, regional, national and international publishers have been on the winner’s lists over the years.

The Wincott Foundation Awards

Deadline: 1 March

Details: The Wincott Foundation’s annual awards recognise outstanding achievement in the field of business, economic and financial journalism. There are seven categories with prizes worth up to £5,000. A wide range of styles and formats will be considered, from commentary, analytical features and documentaries to original reporting on companies and business issues.

Read more: Inside the New Statesman’s award-winning podcast commercial strategy

Publisher Podcast Awards

Deadline: 8 March

The Publisher Podcast Awards celebrate the best podcasts from around the world. The podcast must be from a publisher that releases content regularly and primarily in at least one other medium - print or online.

AOP Digital Publishing Awards 2024

Deadline: 14 March 2024

Coming into their 22nd year, these awards continue to set the standard for editorial, commercial, partnership and publishing excellence. With 26 categories, awards are open to all members and non-members of The Association of Online Publishers (AOP).

Free daily newsletter

If you like our news and feature articles, you can sign up to receive our free daily (Mon-Fri) email newsletter (mobile friendly).