The Periodicals Training Council has announced the shortlist for its New Journalist of the Year awards, with students from City University taking almost every finalist spot in the 'most promising student journalist' category.

The annual awards, which recognise young talent in the magazine and business media industry, award prizes across eight categories in total.

This year in the shortlist for the 'most promising student journalist of the year' category, City University students have taken five out of six shortlisted slots, the remaining spot filled by Gary Cansell from Goldsmiths, University of London.

The awards will be presented at ceremony in London on Friday 26 November.

The full shortlist can be found below:

Most Promising Student Journalist of the Year

Sarah Baldwin, City University, London
Gary Cansell, Goldsmiths, University of London
Jasmine Phillips, City University, London
Moya Sarner, City University, London
Rachel Smith, City University, London
India Sturgis, City University, London

New Business News Journalist of the Year

Chris Chapman, Chemist+Druggist, UBM Medica
Molly Garboden, Community Care, Reed Business Information
Kirsty McGregor, Community Care, Reed Business Information
Zoe Smeaton, Chemist+Druggist, UBM Medica
Sarah Townsend, Regeneration & Renewal, Haymarket Media Group
Kaye Wiggins, Third Sector, Haymarket Media Group

New Consumer Specialist/Customer Magazine Journalist of the Year

Kit Alexander, Today's Golfer, Bauer Media
Daniel Bennett, BBC Focus magazine, BBC Magazines Bristol
Ruth Emmett, Runner's World, Natmag-Rodale
Edwin Smith, Private Banking, John Brown
Helen Thomson, New Scientist, Reed Business Information

New Magazine Designer of the Year

Victoria Dimmick, Cosmopolitan, National Magazine Company
Corrie Heale, ShortList, ShortList Media
Natasha Tomalin, Stylist, ShortList Media

New Business Features Journalist of the Year

Aly Balsom, Farmers Weekly, Reed Business Information
Nick Duxbury, Inside Housing, Ocean Media Group
Sophie Griffiths, Travel Trade Gazette, United Business Media
Isabel Hardman, Inside Housing, Ocean Media Group
Camilla Pemberton, Community Care, Reed Business Information
Aditi Shah, Property Week, United Business Media
Andrew Sheen, Pensions Insight & Engaged Investor, Newsquest Specialist Media

New Consumer Journalist of the Year

Edward Bearryman, Match of the Day magazine, BBC Worldwide
Catherine Bennion-Pedley, Company, National Magazine Company
Amy Grier, Stylist, ShortList Media
Alex Harris, Men's Health, National Magazine Company
Matt Hussey, ShortList, ShortList Media
Corinne Redfern, Sugar, Hachette Filipacchi
Rebecca Smith, woman&home, IPC Media

New Section Editor of the Year

Ruth Emmett, Runner's World, Natmag-Rodale
Rebecca Evans, Health Service Journal & Nursing Times, Emap
Lucy Foster, ShortList, ShortList Media
Richard Heap, Property Week, United Business Media
Jennifer Richardson, Chemist+Druggist, UBM Medica
Lydia Stockdale, Inside Housing, Ocean Media Group

New Editor of the Year

Richard Hoey, Pulse, UBM Medica
Neal Maidment, WI Life, National Federation of Women's Institutes
Sara Oldham, Youth & Children's Magazines, BBC Worldwide
Kevin Pettman, Top Gear Turbo Challenge, BBC Worldwide
Terri White, ShortList, ShortList Media

Free daily newsletter

If you like our news and feature articles, you can sign up to receive our free daily (Mon-Fri) email newsletter (mobile friendly).