Nick Davies

Nick Davies is names as the FPA's journalist of the year 2011

Credit: Guardian

Guardian journalist Nick Davies was named journalist of the year at last night's Foreign Press Association Media Awards 2011.

Tonight he will collect a second prize, the Frontline Club award, in recognition of his investigation into the phone hacking scandal, an affair which led to the closure of the News of the World in July.

In addition to the FPA "winner of winners" award, Davies also took the print and web news award along with Guardian colleague Amelia Hill for the July story which reported allegations that murdered schoolgirl Milly Dowler's voicemail was hacked by the now-defunct tabloid.

Sky News correspondent Alex Crawford, who has won a host of awards in the past year, including the Royal Television Society's television journalist of the year award for the second year running and who last month scooped the James Cameron Memorial Award for her reports on the Middle East and was hailed as an 'outstanding role model' for the industry, jointly took the TV news story award with colleagues Martin Smith and Tim Miller, for their Battle for Zawiyah report.

The Sky News iPad app scooped the title of web innovation of the year. Journalist David James Smith took the print and web feature award for And They Leapt into the Unknown, a feature for Sunday Times Magazine.

A full list of the winners is below.

FPA Member – Royal Wedding Story: 
Susan Ormiston, Erin Boudreau and Richard Devey, Protecting Kate, CBC News

FPA Member – Other
: Cam Simpson, Shooting Gold Diggers at African Mine Seen Amid Record Prices, Bloomberg

TV News Story: 
Alex Crawford, Martin Smith and Tim Miller, The Battle for Zawiyah, Sky News

Print and Web News: 

Nick Davies and Amelia Hill, News of the World hacked Millie Dowler’s phone during police hunt, The Guardian

: Kelly Carr and Brian Grow, A Little House of Secrets on the Great Plains, Reuters

Mike Thomson and Lewis James, In the Wake of the LRA, Today, BBC Radio 4

Print and Web Feature:

David James Smith, And They Leapt into the Unknown, The Sunday Times Magazine

TV Feature/Documentary
May Ying Welsh, Tuki Laumea and Jon Blair, Bahrain - Shouting in the Dark, Al Jazeera English

Jack Shenker, Exodus, Prospect

Web Innovation: 
Sky News, Sky News for iPad

Ed Caesar, The Match They Thought Could Never End, GQ


Colin Barraclough, Northwest Passage, Conde Nast Traveler (US)

Arts and Culture:

Tim Adams, Life After Suicide, The Observer

Journalist of the Year (Winner of Winners):

Nick Davies, The Guardian

Free daily newsletter

If you like our news and feature articles, you can sign up to receive our free daily (Mon-Fri) email newsletter (mobile friendly).